Thoughts

Living a musical life

IndiSpire: #BackgroundScoreOfMyLife

If I turn back and look, I’d wonder what my life would have been without music. It’d have been hell on Earth, for sure. Music runs in my blood. Music has blended with my soul right from the moment of my birth. There is music in each and everything I do. I liberate myself through music. My senses are calmed by music. For a music aficionado like me, background score for each and every moment of my life is mandatory. That song, that piece of instrumental, which would accompany me in every move of mine, is something I cherish.

When I had been pulled out of my mother’s womb, I can vaguely remember Chinna Chinna Aasai from Roja running through my mind. Somewhere, during her pregnancy, my mom had listened to that song. Thus began the establishment of background scores for every stage of my life and my devotion for A.R.Rahman (though the baby me wasn’t aware that the song was composed by him). As I turned 1, 2 and 3, soundtracks of Bombay,Rangeela and Minsaara Kanavu played throughout every situation I had experienced as a child. Then came Taal in 1999. I can still remember how the song Taal Se Taal Mila had been the only companion to me during those days. There were Indipop songs played endlessly on Universal channel and SS Music. Maine Paayal Hai Chankai was the song which I’d be humming most of the time while Piya Basanti Re turned out be the most melodious song I had listened in the year 2000.

As I grew up, a delightful melange of songs composed by Rahman, Ilaiyaraaja, Yuvan Shankar Raja and Harris Jayaraj formed the background for my happy and sad moments. Especially the song Elangaathu Veesudhey from Pithamagan (composed by Ilaiyaraaja) was in loop for most part of the day. I was really enchanted by Kaadhal Valarthen song in the first trimester of 2005. Maybe it’d have been because of a crush I had on one of the boys from Bournvita Ad. 😀

Years 2005 and 2006 were the ones when most of my background songs were of Yuvan Shankar Raja’s. Sometimes it’d be Yeno Kangal from Kalvanin Kadhali or Oru Naalil Vaazhkai from Pudhupettai (when I was down in the dumps) or even Yammadi Aathadi from Vallavan (when I had been my rollicking self). When 2007 dawned, Rahman rain began to pour down on me. I still cannot identify that particular moment when I had realized that I had a thing for Rahman’s songs. The first song of that year which turned into my background score was Nannare Nannare from Guru. I can say that 2007 was the most musical year of my life. The soul song of my life, the most heartrending song ever, the song which would be mixed in my breath forever, Kaatrin Mozhi, was born. My foray into Bollywood songs also began on that year. Some valuable, cherishing and soul-stirring ones being Chand Sifarish,Main Agar Kahoon,Mere Haath Mein and Ajab Si. It was also the year when I had fallen in love with a song Paravaye Engu Irukkirai from Katradhu Tamizh. It used to run in my mind in a endless loop.

Then the entire soundtrack of Uyire formed the framework of my life. As I stepped into 2008, albums of Yaaradi Nee Mohini,Jaane Tu Ya Jaane Na,Ada,Vaaranam Aayiram and Yuvvraaj were the background scores. Songs from Delhi 6 welcomed me warmly in 2009. Those were the tracks which actually changed the outlook of my life, I can say. Another one was Tujh Mein Rab Diktha Hai from Rab Ne Bana Di Jodi. Years progressed. The entire 2010, 2011 and 2012 were filled with Rahman’s numbers and occasionally with Yuvan’s, Harris’, Vijay Antony’s and Ilaiyaraaja’s. The year of 2013 brought the soundtrack of Thirumanam Ennum Nikkah which turned out to be the background score.

I became fascinated with the song Awari from Ek Villain which I listened during some painful days. And the background songs of this year (till the present) have been Roja Kadale,Thodu Vaanam,Ennodu Nee Irundhal and Malargal Kaetten. And a hell lot of other Rahman’s songs.

The above mentioned are just a few. There have been many other songs which had been my background scores. I cannot sum them up here. I had varying moods and each mood had a different song to relate to.

P.S: The most inspirational song which motivates me and which would stay with me forever is Pesugiren Pesugiren from Satham Podathey.

Music is my birthright!

6 thoughts on “Living a musical life

  1. Beautiful post, Kavya. If Music had the ability to walk and talk like human beings, it would have embraced you over and over. Though like a soul it surrounds you, had it been a physical being, it wouldn’t ever have the heart to unwrap its arms from you, the most devoted fan.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

