Thoughts

Books that I read in 2016

So, this is all about the books I read in 2016. I am gonna discuss with you the best and worst of what I read. This doesn’t mean that I am going to tell you about the best and worst books of 2016. I seriously don’t know about that. I did not read all the books released in 2016 and many are in my to-read list. This is about the best and worst books out of the 49 books I read last year. Of course, Goodreads has been an immense help to me in keeping track of the books I read. I also surpassed my challenge of 30 books. 🙂

The Best:

Oh! There are so many good books. I don’t know where to start. Well, people who are my FB friends would definitely know what I would consider the bestest of all. Yes, it’s the famed Harry Potter series. WTH?! Kavya, haven’t you read HP as a child? Sadly, no. 😦 I am still regretting that I did not read HP in my childhood and that I concentrated more on Enid Blyton and Nancy Drew. Well, now I have got a start. Let me list the best books.

  1. Harry Potter (series) by J.K.Rowling – I don’t need to say anything about this. Only one word. HP healed me. It’s actually the true meaning of life, as said by John Green.61h1vt5ppyl
  2. And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie – There’s no better murder mystery than this one. Ten people are invited to an island and murdered one after another. There’s none left at last, but one of them is the murderer. How?and-then-there-were-none
  3. Sleeping Murder by Agatha Christie – Yet another mind-blowing Christie novel. And also an underrated one. I would strongly recommend every crime aficionado to read this book. The mystery is really mind-boggling!sleeping-murder-v2
  4. The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath – Esther Greenwood’s slow and steady descent into insanity is sure to leave you spellbound. If Sylvia Plath was alive now, she would have been the best writer in the world.41xt-nt-kcl-_sx334_bo1204203200_
  5. The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger – Though this is a fantasy, there is more emotions involved in it. You will be crying at the end of this book. Audrey’s storytelling is just out-of-the-world.18619684
  6. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen – The Queen of Classics. I would strongly recommend every bookworm to read this one. And reread. And reread. And reread….7f3a73cf9a2a658f043ddc75618305e7
  7. Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn – Domestic noir at its best. Filled with unexpected twists and turns, this cat-and-mouse thriller is a must read for every mystery lover. Though there came many books in this genre, none can match this.418a1yrdmll-_sx311_bo1204203200_
  8. Turning Back Time by Shravya Gunipudi – The only Indian author book which I loved to bits. This book taught me lessons, which I wouldn’t have learnt otherwise. Shravya’s delicate way of handling the story will tug at your heartstrings.turning-back-time-by-shravya-gunipudi-book-review-buy-online
  9. The Calling : Unleash Your True Self by Priya Kumar – A truly inspirational book, which must be read by every soul that is searching for answers to life’s questions. The plus point is that Priya doesn’t make the fictional story too preachy, instead she adds the right amount of breeze to it.51gwo8hpynl-_sx351_bo1204203200_
  10. Ethereal : The Dawn of the Blue by Deepika Kumaaraguru – Trust me, there is another J.K.Rowling in the making. This is so much like HP, with the perfect mix of magic, mystery, and friendship. I must say that this book shouldn’t stay underrated. Let’s make it a bestseller. Right now!32494089
  11. The Cosmic Clues by Manjiri Prabhu – Have you ever heard a detective using astrology to solve crimes? No? Then you must pick this one. Manjiri Prabhu is aptly nicknamed as ‘Desi Agatha Christie’. 5183vpif2bnl-_sx303_bo1204203200_
  12. The Lively Library and An Unlikely Romance by Niranjan Navalgund – Oh! What a refreshing book is this one! I love reading books about books. And this was the perfect tale for my book-thirsty soul.513sdwlg-tl-_sx351_bo1204203200_
  13. The Murder of Roger Ackroyd by Agatha Christie – Well, this proves that I am an Agatha Christiezen. Another racy murder mystery that would puzzle you till the end. And the twist at the end would come as a definite blow!9780007527526

The Worst:

  1. One Indian Girl by Chetan Bhagat – It claims to throw light upon feminism, but all it does is discriminate women in such a soothing way that you wouldn’t find out its skulduggery. It might have become a bestseller due to CB’s popularity tag, but it will never last in bookshelves.one-indian-girl-book-cover
  2. Case Files of the Dead by Various Authors – Half baked stories, shoddy editing and poor grammar make this book a very monotonous read. You can just toss it in the trashcan than undergo the torture of reading it.51rnwurmhul-_sx381_bo1204203200_
  3. The Sialkot Saga by Ashwin Sanghi – I am a fan of Ashwin Sanghi. His The Krishna Key  and Chanakya’s Chant are my favourite books. But seriously I couldn’t go ahead with reading this tedious book. Replete with entrepreneurial undertones and a dreary narrative, this book can be given a skip. Hope Sanghi returns with an enchanting theological thriller!28986040
  4. Never Kiss Your Best Friend by Sumrit Shahi – Oh! The run-of-the-mill friendship-turns-into-romance trash. Only the last few pages were worth reading. The rest, you can just skim through.25771064
  5. In Love With Shah Rukh Khan by Ajitabha Bose – No, no, don’t pick up this one. It has the popular tags like ‘world’s smallest love story book’ and ‘a story involving Shah Rukh Khan’. But, no, there’s no story in it. Neither Shah Rukh Khan appears throughout the book. Buy it, read it at your own cost, and slip it inside someone else’s pocket.517cxctbwal-_sx312_bo1204203200_
  6. Beaten by Bhagath by S.V.Divvaakar – If you really want to know how the Indian publishing industry works, you can read this one. Otherwise, stay away from it. It’s just a drab narrative of how a simple college goer (read engineering) becomes a bestselling author.16145356

The Pretty Good ones:

Well, there are a few books which don’t fall into the ‘best or worst’ category. They are pretty good books, worth reading once. You can even read them once more, if you really really love the storyline.

  1. It’s All in the Planets by Preeti Shenoy
  2. The A.B.C Murders by Agatha Christie
  3. Harry Potter and The Cursed Child by J.K.Rowling
  4. The Tales of Beedle the Bard by J.K.Rowling
  5. The Girl Who Loved A Pirate by Kulpreet Yadav
  6. Three Girls and a Crime by Balakarthiga.M
  7. The DEViant by Shankar S. Padmanabhan
  8. Destiny of Shattered Dreams by Nilesh Rathod
  9. One & A Half Wife by Meghna Pant
  10. A Sip of Love and A Sip of Coffee by Ganga Bharani Vasudevan
  11. Like A Love Song by Nikita Singh
  12. Dance Dream by Deepika Kumaaraguru
  13. The Emperor’s Riddles by Satyarth Nayak
  14. The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins
  15. My Dream Man by Aditi Bose
  16. Everyone Has A Story by Savi Sharma
  17. Why We Love The Way We Do by Preeti Shenoy
  18. The Golden Fortress by Satyajit Ray
  19. The Narrow Road to Palem by Sharath Komarraju
  20. She: Ekla Cholo Re by Santosh Avvanavar

So, that’s it! The end of my list. You can take my recommendations. Or you can even recommend books to read. I will add them to my to-read list and complete them in 2017. 🙂

Happy Reading!

Love,

Kavya Janani.U

Leave a Reply

