A to Z Challenge · A.R.Rahman

Y for Yenge Enadhu Kavidhai (#AToZChallenge)

Oh! I have mixed feelings now. One part of me is happy that I am at the end of my goal and the other part of me doesn’t want this saga to end. I loved writing about Rahman’s music. Writing about something that has shaped me throughout my life gave me more power to bear many cyclonic situations. I didn’t want to tell about this tomorrow. Just felt like pouring out my feelings a day before the challenge ends.

Okay, lemme get down to business. Y has a fistful of songs. My pick is the evergreen Yenge Enadhu Kavidhai from Kandukondein Kandukondein. I need not write much about this number, as the song speaks for itself. It’s a mellifluous pathos that can sear your soul and tug at your heartstrings. Rahman’s semi-classical prowess is at its pinnacle here. Right from the divine chant ‘Pirai vandhavudan…’ till the last crescendo, this song is a blissful experience. Rahman uses the nadaswaram brilliantly to create a scintillating second interlude, while the first interlude has a melange of piano notes, strings, and beautiful chorus.

I can tell proudly tell that this is nightingale Chitra’s best in the early 2000s. Her soul-stirring voice flows seamlessly along with the tune. The song becomes a pure tear-jerker, when she croons the line ‘Paaraiyil seidhadhu en manam endru…’. Vairamuthu’s heartrending poetry has some soulful lines,

“Maalai anthigalil manadhin sandhugalil tholaindha mugathai manam thedudhe

Veiyil thaarozhugum nagara veedhigalil maiyyal kondu malar vaadudhe…

Megam sindhum iruthuliyin idaiveliyil thuruvi thuruvi unnai thedudhe

Udaiyum nuraigalilum tholaindha kaadhalanai urugi urugi manam thedudhe…”

Listen to this song here:

Other songs in Y:

  1. Yaaron Sunlo Zara from Rangeela
  2. Yaarumilla from Kaaviyathalaivan
  3. Yai Re from Rangeela
  4. Yaaro Yaarodi from Alaipayuthey
  5. Yedho Yedho Ondru from Enakku 20 Unakku 18
  6. Yeh Jo Desh from Swades
  7. Yeh Tara Woh Tara from Swades

Happy Listening!

Love,

Kavya Janani.U

Leave a Reply

