Thoughts

A dream to remember

This post is a part of Write Over the Weekend, an initiative for Indian Bloggers by BlogAdda.


Hi, friends.

I am back with an actual blog post after a long time. Well, the WOW prompt by BlogAdda is really interesting. But, there’s a glitch over here. BlogAdda has asked me to write about ‘A’ dream to remember. Seriously, I don’t have just one dream to remember. I have an handful of dreams to remember. These dreams have been mysterious. They have even driven me to madness, that the very mention of the themes in my dreams makes me shudder. Yes, they’re almost near to nightmares. But, you know, the nightmares too have limitations. That’s the only good thing about these recurring mysterious dreams.

The themes which repeat in my dreams are Tsunami and Airplanes falling down from the sky. I have even tried to find out the significance of these dreams. When I Googled about significance of a tsunami in dreams, I got this, “To see a tsunami in your dream means that you are being overwhelmed by some repressed feeling or subconscious material that is rising up to the surface. You are experiencing some unhappiness and emotional instability in a waking situation” (src: dreammoods.com).

The significance of airplanes falling from the sky is still more absurd. Dreaming of an airplane crashing may be a metaphor for some aspect of your life that is in danger of ending quickly and unexpectedly; may be an indication that your goals or ideals are too high and unattainable; or it may symbolize your self-doubt and lack of self-confidence in attaining these goals” (src: dreamscloud.com).

Okay, I can partially accept the significance of tsunami. I have had phases of unhappiness and emotional instability. But I just don’t understand about the repressed feeling or subconscious material. And in every tsunami dream, I have miraculously escaped. People around me would have been engulfed by the deadly waves, but I’d be walking directly into safe arms. Well, does that mean that I am escaping from a problematic situation that really needs attention? There was one exceptionally surprising tsunami dream. I was enjoying the gentle sea breeze along with one of my friends (I don’t remember the friend, though). The peculiarity of this dream is that the sea was not situated in a place where seas must be situated. The sea was in my primary school playground! All of a sudden, the center of the sea began creating ripples and there emerged one huge wave. Of course, we screamed, my scream being louder than my friend’s. But when I opened my eyes, I found the sea to be calm and my friend gone! I was like ‘What the hell just happened?’ and boom, I woke up. This dream boggles my mind to this day.

Coming to ‘airplanes falling from the sky’, this is yet another nightmare that’d have me gasping by the end of it. But that doesn’t mean that I have unattainable goals. All my goals are perfectly attainable, though they may take some time. I will explain one of these. I was at the terrace of my apartment, watching the sky. And why was I watching the sky? Because some kind of airplane show was going on. Can you imagine that? I mean, can you really imagine some kind of an EVENT happening in THE SKY? Well, that was actually happening. Different kinds of planes were displaying their flying tactics enthusiastically. And I was watching the show with the same enthusiasm. Suddenly, there came a plane out of nowhere. A huge one that swallowed up the entire event area. And then it started descending. Descending with such speed, that I didn’t even have time to scream. It was charging right towards my apartment. I ducked at the right moment, only to find the plane going past our apartment and blowing up the house next to ours! Well, the blast woke me up.

Though I have had more dreams of tsunami and airplanes falling from the sky, these two are the prominent ones that I can easily remember. They are mysterious. They try to tell me something, which I don’t get, obviously. They rankle my mind each time I try to find the deeper meaning of them. I can never come out of this endless labyrinth of mysterious dreams.

Actually, I have often wondered whether I have become so obsessed with these dreams that I have formed a special relationship with them. And I just keep wondering…..

Readers, I would like to know whether you had any such mysterious dreams. Leave your views as comments. 🙂

Love,

Kavya Janani.U

Leave a Reply

